Setting - Use Spam Detection
If enabled, Filtrate will try to determine which notifications are spam and not even show them to you when you turn off the filter. The sensitivity of the machine learning algorithm can be changed to be more or less sensitive. A more sensitive algorithm will be more likely to treat a notification as spam.
If not enabled, Filtrate will make no attempt to hide spam notifications. This means you will see all notifications even automated, boring ones like GPS updates and automatic downloads.